Planting Memories

Even in winter, the closer you look the more you can see life growing. Through the below freezing temperatures and snow, my oregano continues to grow despite of it all. Thankfully, we will be having spring-like temperatures this weekend. Signs of life will start making their way to the surface. Sometimes the only discovery of new life during winter is inside your home.

Oregano-in-Winter--Body-400x300

I have always had plants in my house, even when I was a kid. My family couldn’t keep a plant alive, but I could, so I did. When I moved into my first house, I brought them with me. The air always seems fresher when they are there, especially in a house that was barely 900 square feet. I haven’t increased the number of plants since we moved and the air is still fresh. When we got dogs it was nice because all the plants cleaned the air in the house so our house didn’t smell like dogs. It’s actually one of my biggest fears is to have a house that smells like nasty dog. My plants must be working overtime with 3 dogs and double the square footage to clean.

I got my first orchid about 7 years ago. I always though that they were difficult to grow. It was a clearance orchid from Lowe’s and I had no clue what color it was. It took some time to find the optimal place for it to grow, but it finally bloomed and I was so excited! I’ve acquired 3 more over the years. Every Christmas they bloom and bring beauty of warm weather I miss. The blooms sustain for a long period of time and shine their beauty on gloomy days.

House-Plants--January--Body

I received amaryllis from a friend after her dad died 2 or 3 years ago. Every January the bulbs bloom. It’s been difficult for me to find where they are happiest, but I found they are happiest near the orchids. They are opening right now as we speak. It’s a great reminder of a man I didn’t know well, but I know loved his greenhouse and plants. It’s a way for him to continue living despite being gone from the earth. I also have a few African Violets from a basket that was given to my mom after my grandma died. Every time they bloom I think of her. I think of her regardless when I see them because she ALWAYS had them in her house.

Life is always there under a foot of snow. We just can’t quite see it. Plants stir up memories of the past and of people I’ve lost. Plants have always had a positive place in my heart, whether outside or inside. I feel whole around them and my breath comes more naturally. What kind of plants do you keep in your house?

Leave a comment